BASF DESIGNFABRIK
FLYING MOLECULES
VR-GAME

BASF SE I Germany 2017

TASK

Within BASF, the designfabrik® connects chemistry and design. At the annual event Fabriktag 2017, one of the main themes was to present the plans for the future premises in a nearby bunker to the 150 invited designer guests. As a key feature of the event, a digital installation should provide not only a vision of the new interiors, but also convey the contents, philosophy and spirit of the designfabrik® as a place of experiment and creation, while having the potential to become a permanent designfabrik® feature.

IDEA

A gripping virtual reality game for all kinds of corporate events that sends great numbers of visitors on an expedition through the new building in short time slots, communicates the characteristics, the innovative products, and the resulting design icons of the designfabrik®, while providing an aesthetic and interactive highlight at Fabriktag and beyond.

RESULT

An addictive highscore virtual reality that brings the BASF claim „we create chemistry” to life: sitting on a molecule, a globular virtual reality chair, the user takes off to high speed flight full of discoveries through the new premises. By catching flying molecule compounds of different ranks, the user not only scores but also creates effects and colors that make every single flight unique. Shrinking effects turn the user to molecule size and enable him to experience the products from an unknown perspective. Though representing the new designfabrik® interior, the rooms remain generic enough to make the game appropriate for all kinds of events. High resolution details arouse curiosity for the new designfabrik® and its products. The online highscore system allows an unlimited number of gaming stations to join, saving each result by name and making them accessible everywhere.

BASF designfabrik® – Flying Molecules – Virtual Reality Game

BASF designfabrik® – Flying Molecules – Virtual Reality Game

BASF SE | 2017

insight

AUFGABE

Die BASF designfabrik® versteht sich als Schnittstelle zwischen Chemie und Design. Auf dem Fabriktag 2017 sollten den rund 150 geladenen Designern unter anderem ihre geplanten neuen Räumlichkeiten in einem nahegelegenen Bunker vorgestellt werden. Über eine digitale Installation sollte dieses Thema aufgegriffen, Inhalte und Abläufe der designfabrik® vorgestellt, und zugleich ein visuelles Highlight geschaffen werden, mit dem Potenzial, über das Event hinaus zu bestehen.

challenge

IDEE

Ein packendes Virtual Reality-Spiel für Events der BASF designfabrik®, das in kurzer Zeit eine Vielzahl an Besuchern auf eine virtuelle Entdeckungsreise durch die neuen Räumlichkeiten schickt und darüber und eine Vielzahl an Botschaften vermittelt: was die designfabrik® ausmacht, was dort passiert, welche Design-Ikonen sie hervorbringt und dabei als Unterhaltungsfaktor und Gesprächsanlass wirkt – auch über die Spielzeit hinaus.

idea

ERGEBNIS

Ein Highscore-gebundenes Virtual Reality Game mit Suchtpotenzial, das den BASF Claim „we create chemistry“ lebendig werden lässt: Auf einem rasanten Flug auf einem Molekül begibt der User sich durch die Luft in die neuen Räume hinein und sammelt mit Händen fliegende Molekülverbindungen, die nicht nur Punkte bringen, sondern auch Farben und Effekte erzeugen, die jeden Flug einzigartig machen. Shrinking-Effekte lassen den User überraschend auf Molekülgröße schrumpfen und erlauben ein Betrachten der Produkte aus einer ganz anderen Perspektive. Die generisch gehaltenen Innenräume machen das Spiel für eine Vielzahl von Anlässen als „Corporate Game“ einsetzbar. Details in hochauflösender Ästhetik wecken Neugier auf die Produkte. Beliebig viele Spielstationen können an das Highscore-System gebunden werden, das die individuellen Ergebnisse mit Namen speichert und auch mobil abrufbar macht.